Powerful Voices Presents the ATHENA Award

Athena Awards

Powerful Voices Presents... the ATHENA Leadership Award Reception

Thursday, December 7, 2023 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Pinnacle Club
Grand Hyatt Hotel

The ultimate Powerful Voices Conversation Series of the year culminates with the presentation of the ATHENA Leadership Award.

  • Hear from an inspiring speaker: Molly Bloom, subject of the Oscar-nominated film, "Molly's Game"
  • Crown the next recipient of the ATHENA Leadership Award
  • Network with your CWCC community
  • Enjoy the spectacular views of glittering downtown Denver during the holidays!

The ATHENA Leadership Award is presented to a Colorado woman or man who
demonstrates the qualities embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model and who has
achieved the highest level of professional excellence while actively assisting women and historically marginalized people in realizing their full leadership potential. This is a lifetime achievement award to honor the most influential individuals in our community. See the list of past ATHENA winners below.

Nominations are now closed, please join us at the reception!

Reception Information

Join us to honor the 2023 ATHENA Leadership Award Recipient!

Powerful Voices Presents the ATHENA Leadership Award
Thursday, December 7, 2023
5:30-8:00 p.m.
Pinnacle Club

The ATHENA Leadership Award will be presented at the last Powerful Voices Conversation Series, presented by Bank of America, on December 7th! Join your CWCC Community to honor the 2023 ATHENA Leadership Award winner.

Hear from a special keynote Powerful Voice – Molly Bloom, Subject of the Oscar-nominated film, “Molly’s Game”, Bestselling Author, U.S. Ski Team Alum, and Host of Award-Winning Podcast, “Torched.”

When it comes to resilience, reinvention, and re-setting mindsets to achieve your vision, Molly’s life storytelling provides a playbook for success that is as actionable as it is inspiring.

Event Highlights…

  • Special Keynote Address by Molly Bloom, subject of the Oscar-nominated film, Molly’s Game – she’ll share her story of triumph, ruin, and redemption!
  • 2023 ATHENA Leadership Award presentation
  • Festive Drinks, Appetizers, and Music
  • Community and Conversation
  • Spectacular vistas from the 38th Floor of the Grand Hyatt Hotel – Pinnacle Club

Past ATHENA Winners

2022 Lauren Casteel, Women’s Foundation of Colorado

2021 Kelly Brough, MSU Denver

2020 Michelle Lucero, Children’s Hospital Colorado

2019 Christine Benero, Mile High United Way

2018 Donna Lynne, Former Lt. Governor, Colorado

2017 Jean Galloway, Prosono

2016 Dr. Dorothy Horrell, University of Colorado

2015 Pat Cortez, Wells Fargo

2014 Sheila Gutterman, Gutterman Griffiths PC

2013 Elbra Wedgeworth, Denver Health Foundation

2012 Carita Watson, IBM

2011 Mimi Roberson, HealthONE – Presbyterian/St. Luke’s Medical Center

2010 Paula Herzmark, Denver Health Foundation

2009 Caz Matthews, Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield

2008 Sister Alicia Cuaron

2007 Patricia Barela-Rivera, Small Business Administration

2006 Olga Garcia, Coors

2004 Taryn Edwards, Hensel Phelps

2003 Patty Fontneau, TIAA-CREF

2002 Kim Coupounas, GoLite

2001 Judy Taylor, Zenith Woman Magazine

2000 Joy Burns, DC Burns Realty & Trust

1999 Gwinavere Johnston, JohnstonWells Public Relations

1998 Kathryn Paul, Delta Dental

1997 Elaine Demery