ATHENA Finalists Announced

The Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce (CWCC) will honor the outstanding, professional Denver woman of the year from a group of five finalists at the ATHENA Award Gala from 5:30 to 9 p.m. on April 30 at the Seawell Ballroom, 1101 13th Street in Denver.

The ATHENA Award honors the Denver woman who best exemplifies: exceptional professional achievement, devotion to community service and generosity in actively assisting other women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.  The 2009 ATHENA Award finalists include: Cathy Hart, Vice President, Corporate Services, Corporate Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer, Xcel Energy; Tensie Homan, Managing Partner, KPMG, LLP; Sharon Linhart, Managing Partner, Linhart Public Relations; Caz Matthews, Foundation President, Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield; and Jill S. Tietjen, President/CEO, Technically Speaking.  The Chamber will name the award recipient at the Gala.  Visit to view complete biographies.

A special panel of business and community leaders chose the ATHENA Award finalists from nominations submitted by the Denver business community.

The ATHENA Award Gala is a semi-formal event that includes a silent auction and live auction, reception, dinner and awards program.  Tamara Banks will emcee the event.  Additionally, the Colorado School of Mines will present the recipient of the 2009 four-year Florence Caldwell Achievement Scholarship at the Gala.

For more information, visit or call 303-458-0220.  JPMorgan CHASE is the ATHENA Premier Sponsor, ColoradoBiz is the Print Media Partner, American Family Insurance is the Distinguished Sponsor, and the Gay & Lesbian Fund for Colorado and MillerCoors are the Sustaining Sponsors.

Share this article:

Other Articles