Lawmaker Awards Honors Five Extraordinary Women

The Denver Women’s Commission and the Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce honored five Colorado elected officials at the annual Lawmaker Awards Reception last night.  Over 150 individuals attended the reception at the historic Governor’s Mansion.  The five lawmakers were chosen because they work to improve the lives of women in Colorado.

The women honored last night were:

  • U.S. Representative Diana DeGette – Honored for her leadership on the issues of stem-cell research and children’s health.
  • Elaine Gantz Berman, Colorado State Board of Education – Honored for her leadership in the field of education as past chair of the Denver Public School Board as well as founding the Colorado Legacy foundation and the DPS School Partnership program with businesses.
  • State Senator Nancy Spence – Honored for being Senate Minority Leader, a strong voice for women in the Republican Party and for advancing innovation in Education.
  • State Senator Sue Windels – Honored for sponsoring the Wage Transparency Act as a tool to gain pay equity (term limited).
  • State Representative Rosemary Marshall – Honored for her leadership and understanding of business and labor issues.  Also honored for sponsoring the Financial Literacy Education bill this year and the bill to address problems in obtaining Colorado IDs last year (vetoed by the Governor).

Share this article:

Other Articles