Lawmaker Awards Pre-registration Closes Today at 4 p.m.

Lawmaker Awards Pre-registration Closes Today at 4 p.m.

The Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce (CWCC) and the Denver Women’s Commission will honor five Colorado lawmakers for their leadership and work they have done for women at the annual Colorado Lawmakers Award Reception from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. on Nov. 4 at the Governor’s Residence at the Boettcher Mansion.

The event is $30 for pre-registered tickets and $40 for walk-ins.  Register online at

The event provides attendees an opportunity to speak with lawmakers about issues while showing appreciation for the important work they have done for women in the community.  This year, lawmakers receiving awards at the reception include:

  • Senator Paula Sandoval (D-Denver) – Honored for cosponsoring HB 1064 – Economic Prosperity and Poverty Reduction Task Force, SB 33 Early Childhood Education Services Free Lunch and a lifetime achievement award.  Sandoval is term limited after next year.  She is an advocate for both low-income families and small business owners.  She is chair of Senate Finance.
  • Representative Cindy Acree (R-Arapahoe/Elbert) – Honored for HB 1020 – Expedite Medical Program Re-enrollment, which would allow people to renew eligibility for Medicaid or Child Health over the phone or internet, instead of requiring people to miss work and wait for in-person redetermination appointments.  Acree is a newer legislator and member of House Health and Human Services Committee.
  • Representative John Kefalas (D-Fort Collins) – Honored for sponsoring HB 1064 – The Economic Prosperity and Poverty Reduction Task Force, which has a mission to cut poverty in half in ten years; creates a legislative entity to focus on policy and public-private coordination to reduce poverty; seeks to reduce silos between various state programs; and creates a plan in coordination with governments, nonprofits, faith-based services, foundations, advocates, the business community and individuals living in poverty to reduce poverty.  He is a member of Appropriations, Finance and Health and Human Services.
  • Representative Beth McCann (D-Denver) – Honored for cosponsoring SB 68, which will provide about $1 million per year in funding for services to domestic violence victims through a $20 fee on marriage licenses and a $10 per party fee on divorces.  McCann is Vice Chair of Judiciary.
  • Representative Sue Shafer (D-Jefferson) – Honored for sponsoring HB 1224, which prevents gender rating in individual health insurance policies.  Originally, the bill would have prohibited discrimination based on gender in the pricing of individual health insurance policies because women pay up to 40 percent more for individual health insurance policies, which exclude maternity care.  The bill was amended into a topic of study for the Health Task Force.  Shafer is a member of Education and Local Government.

Share this article:

Other Articles